Room 23
Luzerne County Courthouse
200 North River Street
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18711-1001
Fax: 570-822-8210
Telephone: 570-822-6712



The W-BLLA is governed by the Officers and an Executive Committee. It also consists of the following Standing Committees and Special Committees:

Standing Committees

Unauthorized Practice Committee
Legal Aid – Pro Bono Committee
Library Committee
Fines and Forfeitures Committee
  Public Relations/Community Relations Committee
Continuing Legal Education Committee
Court Rules Committee
Investments Committee

Special Committees

Annual Law Day Dinner Dance Committee
Arbitration Committee
Bench-Bar Committee
Budget Committee
By-Laws Committee
Courthouse Records Committee
Criminal Law Committee
Disabilities Committee
District Magistrates-Bar Committee
Elder Law Committee
Environmental Committee
Family Law Committee
Fee Dispute Committee

Health Law Committee
Intellectual Property Committee
Lawyer-Realtor Committee
Lawyer-Referral Committee
Legislation Committee
Medical-Legal Committee
Mentoring Committee
Military Affairs Committee
Orphans’ Court Practice Committee
Religious Outreach Committee
Social Committee
Summer Outing Ad Hoc Golf Committee

Committees may be contacted by writing to the following address:

c/o W-BLLA Secretary
Room 23
Luzerne County Courthouse
200 North River Street
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18711-1001



The Bench Bar Committee has finished planning this year’s Bench Bar Conference for November 10, 2011. This year’s Keynote Speaker is Ken Gormley, Dean of the University of Duquesne School of Law.

Also, Attorney William F. Anzalone has been selected to receive this year’s President’s Award (the highest award of the W-BLLA). Bill’s biography is included in the Program Agenda.


William F. Anzalone, Esquire

The Lunch program will also include Remarks by Bar President, Robert D. Schaub, Esquire, and recognition of Senior Judge Clinton Smith and Senior Judge Pat Toole for their judicial service.

W-BLLA Members wishing to download the Bench Bar Conference Agenda and other materials for the Conference should click here for the Bench Bar Agenda & Materials.


As part of an on-going cooperative educational effort by the area’s medical and legal professions, the Wilkes-Barre Law & Library Association, together with the Luzerne County Medical Society, and the Lower Luzerne County Bar Association conducted an educational seminar on POLST – Physician Orders for Life-Sustaining Treatment at Mea’s Restaurant in downtown Hazleton.

The seminar was sponsored by the Medical-Legal Committee, chaired by Elaine Cook, J.D., R.N. Presenters included Nicholas D. Giordano, M.S., M.D., C.M.D., President of the Medical Society, and Brenda D. Colbert, LL.M., CELA, of Marshall, Parker & Associates, LLC, Co-Chairperson of the bar association’s Elder Law Committee . The seminar was attended by a large crowd of people connected to various aspects of health care. Many of the professionals attending, received educational credits needed for their various types of professional licenses, while others simply wanted to learn more about POLST and how it may affect them one day or someone that they know. Other seminars are being planned for the future by the doctors and lawyers on various topics relevant to the local community. These will be announced as they develop.


Shown in the Photograph (from left to right): Atty. Cook, Dr. Giordano, and Atty. Colbert.


Among other Committee activity, the CLE Committee hosted a joint Superior Court and Commonwealth Court CLE program at Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs with the Lackawanna Bar Association.

Shown in the photograph (from left to right) are: (First Row): Atty. Daniel E. Cummins, Lackawanna Bar Association Executive Council, Leonard R. Blazick, Assistant Chief Staff Attorney, Superior Court’s Central Legal Staff, Hon. Anne E. Lazarus, Superior Court of Pennsylvania, Hon. Correale Stevens, President Judge of the Superior Court, Hon. Renée Cohn Jubelirer, Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania, Ms. Karen Reid Bramblett, Prothonotary, Superior Court of Pennsylvania.

(Second Row): Atty. Joseph P.J. Burke III, Ex. Director, Wilkes-Barre Law & Library Assn., Mr. Jason Morrison, Executive Director, Lackawanna Bar Association, Hon. Susan P. Gantman, Superior Court of Pennsylvania, Atty. Robert D. Schaub, President, Wilkes-Barre Law & Library Assn. Hon. Jack A. Panella, Superior Court of Pennsylvania.

The Annual Law Day Dinner Dance Committee hosted a terrific 2011 Law Day DinnerDance at the Woodlands. Superior Court Judge Peter Paul Olszewski Sr. was honored, along with Fifty Year Members, John Aponick and John Doran, Twenty Five Year Members and Five Year Members.

Shown in the photograph (from left to right) are: Atty. Joseph P.J. Burke III, W-BLLA Executive Director; Atty. Saporito; Mrs. June Olszewski; Judge Olszewski; Atty. Peter Paul Olszewski Jr.; Atty. Scartelli, Atty. Lehman, Atty. Grosek, and Atty. Dougherty.

Shown in the photograph (from left to right) are: Atty. Joseph P.J. Burke III (W-BLLA Executive Director), Atty. Lehman, Atty. Aponick, Atty. Saporito; Atty. Doran, Atty. Grosek, Atty. Scartelli, and Atty. Dougherty.

Shown in photo are 25 Year Members (from left to right) are: Atty. Wetter, Atty. Harris, and Atty. Tomaszewski.

Chief Judge Kane of the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania spoke at the April Quarterly Meeting.

Shown in the photo (from left to right) are: Seated: Hon. Robert N. Opel II and the Hon. John J. Thomas (both of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Middle District), Chief Judge Kane, Judge Caputo, and Hon. Thomas F. Burke Jr. (President Judge of the Court of Common Pleas of Luzerne County).

Standing: Atty. Joseph P.J. Burke III (W-BLLA Ex. Dir.), Atty. Joseph F. Saporito Jr. (Vice President), Hon. Joseph M. Cosgrove (Court of Common Pleas), and Atty. Robert D. Schaub (W-BLLA President).

The Social Committee and the Golf Committee hosted the highly successful Annual Summer Outing at the Fox Hill Country Club, raising money for area charities from hosting a Gold Tournament (that benefits the Association’s Foundation).

The Winners of this year’s Tournament included the Hon. Robert Mazzoni, Atty. J. Lawrence Brown, Atty. Jonathan Comitz, and Atty. Allen Woods.

Shown in the photograph (from left to right) are: Atty. Robert D. Schaub, President; Atty. Doherty, Atty. Klemow, Atty. Kennedy, Atty. Joseph F. Saporito Jr., Vice President; Atty. Comitz, Atty. Brown, Atty. Woods, Judge Mazzoni, Atty. Yelen, Atty. Wassel, and Atty. Joseph P.J. Burke III, Secretary-Treasurer.

The Bench Bar Committee is in the process of planning the November Summer Outing and the Interfaith Committee is working on the October Red Mass.


Home | About | Services | Law Register | Library | Foundation | Links